Free Book Online
Book The Wicked

Pdf

The Wicked

2.4 (2081)

Log in to rate this item

    Available in PDF - DJVU Format | The Wicked.pdf | Language: ENGLISH
    James Newman(Author)

    Book details


AN ANCIENT EVIL RISES...BURNS...KILLS...

After a fire consumes the Heller Home for Children, the residents of Morganville, North Carolina thought they knew evil...

They were wrong.

Unaware of the turmoil in their new hometown, the Littles—David, Kate, and seven-year-old Becca—are moving from New York City to Morganville in hopes of repairing their own lives, which were recently shattered by an act of sexual violence.

Before long, David realizes that his family's troubles are worse than he could ever have imagined.

An ancient demon lurks beneath the town of Morganville, an unholy creature conjured into existence by the Heller Home tragedy.

Its name is Moloch.

It is hungry for the souls of the townspeople.

But most of all, Moloch wants the children. It will not rest until it has them.

All of them.

"The Wicked is a good old-fashioned, unabashed Horror novel. James Newman remembers when horror used to be fun, and he's recaptured it here in all of its gory glory. A terrifying page-turner in the tradition of Graham Masterton, J.N. Williamson, and Richard Laymon." --Brian Keene Author of The Rising, City of the Dead and Ghoul"The Wicked is a well-honed blade." --Norman PartridgeAuthor of Mr. Fox and Other Feral Tales and Lesser Demons"Reminiscent of the best of 80's horror and Bentley Little at his most grotesque and unrelenting, The Wicked is the kind of horror we don't see enough of anymore. This is one wild and bloody ride, and in the capable hands of James Newman, it's one worth taking." --Kealan Patrick Burke Stoker Award-winning author of The Turtle Boy and Kin --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title. Originally published in 2007 in limited edition hardcover, The Wicked has been revised by the author, expanded with a new foreword by Mark Allan Gunnells, a new afterword by the author, and brilliant new artwork and illustrations by Jesse David Young (with additional cover layout by Yannick Bouchard). Also included is a brand new, exclusive tie-in short story written specifically for this release. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

4.3 (2925)
  • Pdf

*An electronic version of a printed book that can be read on a computer or handheld device designed specifically for this purpose.

Formats for this Ebook

PDF
Required Software Any PDF Reader, Apple Preview
Supported Devices Windows PC/PocketPC, Mac OS, Linux OS, Apple iPhone/iPod Touch.
# of Devices Unlimited
Flowing Text / Pages Pages
Printable? Yes

Book details

  • PDF | 318 pages
  • James Newman(Author)
  • Apex Book Company (February 3, 2017)
  • English
  • 5
  • Literature & Fiction

Read online or download a free book: The Wicked

 

Review Text

  • By Darren Perdue on November 30, 2016

    I became a fan of horror fiction in 1979. The first book I got was Peter Straub’s GHOST STORY. From there, I started a diet of Stephen King, and then was on the lookout for authors who push the limit past the edge so you fall helplessly down the rabbit hole.James Newman is one such author to throw you down the rabbit hole, with a hand grenade chaser. The Wicked tells the tale of a small town in North Carolina and an ancient evil that awakens, and is hungry. David and Kate Little move from New York City to Morganville, NC with their young daughter Becca. Morganville is a quiet town where it would be a joy to raise a family. It is nice, quiet, a place where everyone knows everyone and always willing to lend a helping hand.Then, the Heller House for Children goes up in flames, and an ancient evil is awakened. Moloch, the man with the beard, has an agenda and is hungry. What does he eat? The souls of children. (Let that sink in). Life in the small own starts to spin out of control, and it is up to David Little and a few friends to defeat this evil.If you are a fan of 80’s horror fiction, get this book. It has the feel of an 80’s horror novel, right down to the cover. Sure, it was written in 2012, but it feels like it was one of the books leading the charge for horror fiction in 1983. It game me the nostalgic sense of terror that I have not felt in a long time.If you have a fan of horror fiction in your life, get them this book!

  • By Zakk @ The Eyes Of Madness on July 10, 2014

    4.5 leaning towards a 5"The Wicked" is a ton of fun and you should go in with as little knowledge as possible.Originally published in 2007 "The Wicked" reads like a love letter to the 80's heyday of horror novels. Glorious amounts of violence & gore with an equal sprinkling of skin & sex and an unwavering blanket of menace. Serious in tone... but not too serious. And not self-depreciatingly cheesy either.The novel starts at a brisk pace, hits it's stride at about the half way mark, and really just amps up to an unrelenting pace until the end. This book is a joyride. There are forces at work here, and nobody is safe.My only complaint, and it's minor, is the sporadic, slightly clunky dialogue. And if this was done on purpose, to maintain the throwback feel, then the novel was paid a disservice. Because some of the exchanges between characters threatened to take me out of the story and made me scratch my head. Otherwise James Newman has crafted a fully enjoyable, very satisfying read. Something any fan of 80's horror (literature or film) will get a kick out of.P.S. The cover art, painted by Jesse David Young for this revised edition, is absolutely gorgeous. One of the best covers you've seen in a while, if not ever, and it really sets the tone for what you're about to experience."Moloch."Check it out.

  • By Cory Cline on September 22, 2014

    While some of you were playing with your Transformers in the eighties, I had much more time on my hands since I was stuck with Go-Bots which wasn't nearly as cool, but left me with much more time on my hands to read.I tore through every book I could find by not only King and Koontz, but Saul, Campbell, Wright, Wagner, and Grant and the countless others who were part of that cesspool of horror that poured forth from that decade.James Newman fires up his Delorean and throws a bunch of cheesy eighties horror into the fusion generator to bring us this fun homage to those books we love so much. From the wonderfully creepy cover to the fake ads on the inside of the book, which join forces to form one great book that any fan of this decade will cherish.The characters are believable and flawed, with a back story that could be the plot of a book by itself. When David & Kate move their family from the horrors of New York to the small town quietness of Morganville, North Carolina they have no idea that they are doing so at the worst possible time. Just as they start to get over the horrors they left behind and as they get to be friendly with many of the town folk, David realizes that something evil is lurking just beneath the surface.The plot is thick with heavy nods to the classic evil vs. small town stories and moves along faster than Lion-o can yell "Thundercats... Ho!" He peppers in some sex, both appropriate as well as inappropriate; a large group of easily influenced townspeople doing bad things, and a guy in a dirty Santa suit. It is fun, creepy, and a great tip of the hat to a decade where everyone was a horror author.If this book is on your want to read list- bump it up to the top and indulge. You won't be disappointed!


  • Name:
    Email*:
    The message text*: